Aluminum, Carbon Fiber, Gas Tank Thread

Discussion in 'Common Items on Husqvarnas: Tires/tubes/grips/etc' started by MOTORHEAD, Apr 6, 2009.

1. MOTORHEAD Husqvarna
    Pro Class

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    none
    Other Motorcycles:
    2014 YAMAHA YZ250
    I've got the stuff, but I lack the confidence in my welding and just can't seem to bring myself to try it.
  2. scoobywrx05 Husqvarna
    A Class

Lay it all out,bend what needs to be bent,and put alignment marks on everything and send it my way,,I'll get it welded for ya. This right here was a quick put together weld up on a 15 minute break at work.
    [IMG]
  3. BlueHusky144 Husqvarna
    AA Class

Very Nice Scooby!!!

I'm a machinist but not a welder... I am more than confident in my design capabilities but to put together a complete tank by myself is a little overwhelming. I could mock a tank up out of foam or cardboard fairly easily. But the welders that I have talked to aren't interested in design work they just want to weld it from your specifications, which is understandable. :eek:

That's why I hope Dave can give us the hook up from over the pond!
  4. Joe Chod Husqvarna
    Pro Class

Not a 09 125 owner but you all know I still have a passion for the smallest Husky. Anyhow........was thinking outside the box (as usual) and was tooling with the idea of others that the tank should use the low space under the tank down near the engine for the obvious reasons and was thinking .............why not a second tank that feeds the carb and the stocker feeds it. I mean...why re-invent the wheel when you have almost 2 gallons there already and it rides nice. If something could fit..........not obscure the plug and head/cylider/powervalve, mount nice and secure, and have a top and bottom fitting for stock tank to new tank hose and new tank to carb hose, it might be an easier build/fabrication. Your thoughts? Blue and Norm? Scooby.....it might be an easier fab/weld that even Mac could do (he'll kill me for that!)