1. 2 Stroke Husqvarna Motorcycles Made In Italy - About 1989 to 2014
    WR = 2st Enduro & CR = 2st Cross

250-500cc 09 WR 250 TMX Carb - Making it Work

Discussion in '2 Stroke' started by utopia, Oct 3, 2010.

1. utopia Husqvarna
    AA Class

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    WR250, WXC125
    I am trying to get the TMX carb jetted correctly and I'm really close except for finding the main. Maybe someone here can help.

Here are my current settings:
    Elev. 6000 ft
    Temp. 70 deg. (all of my jetting tests have been near the same temp)
    Pilot 30 (AS 1 1/2 turns out)
    Needle GAY needle (3rd clip)
    Main 430 (have tried 390 to 450)

I have it running very well up to about 3/4 throttle. With all of the mains I've tried, the result is always the same. When I take it through the gears and hold it wide open on a dirt road, above 3/4 throttle, the power falls flat and it doesn't scream on top like it should. I'm not a jetting expert but to me it feels like it's a lean condition. And the plug is dry and light gray also looking lean. At my elevation, going to higher than a 450 doesn't seem right since the stock main was a 460. And the last time I tried it, I was wide open and reached down and pulled the choke and it didn't change anything. When trail riding I'm rarely wide open and I don't even notice that the main isn't right. It has good power off the bottom and throughout the range when riding. I can ride all day and get very little spooge on the silencer, but when I do my wide open runs to check the main, the pipe gets wet with oil running down it. I was thinking that this indicated that it was rich at wide open but that's not consistent with the plug reading. So could this be just residual oil coming out of the exhaust?

I was told to try a plug without a resistor - B8ES instead of BR8ES and it still does the same thing.

I have checked and adjusted the floats.