Carbs vs EFI......which to buy?

Discussion in 'EFI/carb' started by slopaso, Nov 16, 2012.

1. slopaso Husqvarna

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    TE450
    Other Motorcycles:
    DUCATI 907 PASO
    I am going to be a new Husky owner. I am currently shopping for a 2006-2009 model years TE450. At least that is what I am finding in my price range. My dilemma is that I am nowhere near a Husky dealership and I am not a mechanic at all. So I am trying to find out if I should get an earlier carbureted bike or the later EFI bike.

Can anyone offer advice as to which is more reliable and/or easier for a non-Husky private mechanic to service?

I live at sea level and don't really get too far from the coastal mountain range for riding. Chances of going to higher elevations like the Sierras or Rockies are slim to none, so carb settings not really a concern.
  2. RHOK Husqvarna

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    2009 TE510
    Other Motorcycles:
    Yamaha R1
    I sold my carby wr450f to buy an injected husky

to hell with messing around with jets and the carby getting blocked and the choke etc

fuel injection - starts every time first time no choke needed etc - let the computer do the work
  3. KXcam22 Husqvarna
    AA Class

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    2011 SM630, 2017 300XC
    Other Motorcycles:
    08FZR6;07CRF450;98CBR900RR;02KTM200
    FI is nice but there is more to go wrong. Give me a good carb any day. At least the JD tuner lets me treat my FI like a carb with push buttons. Cam.
    Vinduro likes this.
  4. Coffee CH Owner

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    2006 TE250, 2013 TR650 Terra - sold
    Might depend on what shows up on the market...

Personally I prefer carb, but obviously efi works too. efi was introduced in 2008 and has been steadily improved every year.

This place is about 160 miles from you, less than 3 hours. That is indeed not close but compared to the folks in other states it would seem right next door - and Paul certainly knows how to ride.