New bike and no clue...

Discussion in 'EFI/carb' started by AllmanFan, Nov 26, 2014.

1. AllmanFan Husqvarna
    B Class

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    2014 te449
    New to Cafe Husky sorry if this is the wrong forum to post in. Just got my first Husky (TE449) and have a few questions. I have been reading all about how off the showroom floor the bike is all plugged up (california). Even know I am new to riding after a 20+ year hiatus I could defiantly feel that the bike is lacking and is kinda choppie. When I let of the gas it really seems to wind down hard..... So my questions are 1) is this normal for a new 449? 2) will mapping the bike help? And 3) will mapping be to much power for a old guy trying to get back in the game? Any advise would be much appreciated! Thanks.
    Centerline and Tinken like this.
  2. Teambowles Husqvarna
    Pro Class

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    19 FE501
    Other Motorcycles:
    19 ktm 6 days excf 450 n excf 500
    Yes yes and yes. You should post this in 4t forum. Bike is extremely plugged up stock. First off get rid of smog junk (black canister on drivers side of bike. 2nd send ecu to Ziptyracing and have map 3 installed. 3rd go for fmf q4 slip on pipe then hold on it will rip. No it will not be too much power, it will run more like it is designed to. The power will be more in line with the suburb handling the bike is designed for. Congrats and enjoy
    Centerline likes this.
  3. Huskynoobee CH Sponsor ZipTy Racing

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    2011 TE449 2006 WR250
    Other Motorcycles:
    HDUltra Classic IT200 YZ250 SV650s
    These motors take a good 500 miles to break in. I am slow to add stuff and went with no mods other than taking the smog canister off and switching to full synthetic oil at about 350 miles. After it passed the 500mi mark, it was like a switch flipped and it started pulling big power wheelies out of turns. That's with the stock pipe mind you and it stayed that way until the 1000mi mark.