New TE310 won't start....

Discussion in 'EFI/carb' started by bmasho, Jul 3, 2012.

1. bmasho Husqvarna
    AA Class

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    1970 Husky 360 Cross, 2016 FE350
    Other Motorcycles:
    Ossa Bultaco
    Greetings all,
    I'm a newbie with my first fuel injected bike, and first Husqvarna since owning a 1974 250 Mag. The bike is a new (leftover) 2010 TE310 with 12 miles on it that I bought from a private party. It had been sitting for a while.
    It came to me with a dead OEM fuel pump which I replaced with one from CA Cycleworks. The new fuel pump now primes as it should when the key is turned on All fuses and relays were tested prior to replacing the pump and all are fine. Given the age of the bike, I did not replace the fuel filter as it appeared to flow ok.
    The bike has a strong battery and a good spark, but does not start. Cranks very strong but does not even hint at firing up. Kill button in proper position etc.
    Did I overlook something here? Could the fuel injectors themselves be clogged from sitting?
    Thanks in advance for your thoughts.
  2. Biggziff Husqvarna
    A Class

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    TE510
    Other Motorcycles:
    KTM 1190R, 500 EXC, 1970 Suzuki T250
    Any fuel on the plug? Does it have a high idle plunger? Do you smell fuel in the exhaust?
  3. hillbilly Husqvarna
    AA Class

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    11te250 14cr150
    Other Motorcycles:
    17 ktm500
    Fuel injectors could be clogged ? I had my sons quadsport 80 stored in a barn for a couple of years, when i tried to start it had much trouble ! The final answer was a dirt dobber had built a nest in the exhaust not leting the engine breathe ! make sure you are getting exhaust pressure!
  4. bmasho Husqvarna
    AA Class

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    Other Motorcycles:
    Ossa Bultaco
    Plug is not wet, which had me thinking about the injectors.