Power Commander vs iBeat?

Discussion in 'EFI/carb' started by mndirtrider, Nov 1, 2010.

1. mndirtrider Husqvarna
    B Class

I have a 2010 TXC 250 that doesn't seem to be running correctly. There is a bog off idle. It's not one of the early VIN numbers so I don't think it needs reflashed.

My dealer is 3 hours away so it's hard to bring it in for tuning so I want to get something I can tune myself. Which is the better, easier software for $300, the Power Commander or the iBeat?

I'm new to Husky and EFI so I'm not sure which direction to go. The bike is pretty sweet though even with the slight bog off the bottom.
  2. 4DIRT Husqvarna
    B Class

I put a powercommander on my 450 and dyno tuned it and it flys. Power from start to finish.
  3. Trailridernut Husqvarna
    A Class

A friend used the JD Jetting kit on his 310, VERY easy to use and it's only $200~, I rode it before(race mode) and after... less $$ for almost the same thing. I can't imagine spending more money to achieve basicly the same thing unless you like to tinker with your bike. You plug the kit in, spend 5 minutes and off you go!
  4. Coffee CH Owner

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    2006 TE250, 2013 TR650 Terra - sold
    They are 2 different things.

iBeat is referred to in their operating manual as a "IDT" - integrated diagnostics tool. While you can make some adjustments with it for tuning it will never do as much for tuning as a Power commander with autotune. Personally I would not use the PC V without autotune, that fills in places in the map that do not exist in the manufacturers maps they provide.

Last I checked the James Dean efi tuner only existed for the 310.

If it were me, I would look around and possibly pick things up used. I know there was an ibeat/pcv/autotune combination that sold in the classifieds recently.