1. 2 Stroke Husqvarna Motorcycles Made In Italy - About 1989 to 2014
    WR = 2st Enduro & CR = 2st Cross

125-200cc Should I Change Bikes

Discussion in '2 Stroke' started by mikebru, Nov 3, 2013.

1. mikebru Husqvarna
    AA Class

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    2009 WR250; 2012 TE449; 2005 TE450
    Did the Hammer Run dual sport yesterday.

I'm a slow, ok rider, but not very skilled.

I have a 2012 TE 449. I had a hard time in the tight stuff. Felt like i was working too hard and trying to muscle the bike around. I think I'm rired of this bike now. This isn't the 1st time this has happened.

I spoke with 2 guys (one was Kyle from this forum) who both said their WR's work great.

So, for a rider like me would it make sense to move to a 125 or 250 2 stroke?

Keep in mind I've been riding dirt for about 5 years and have never ridden a 2 stroke.

I'm a slow 41 year old that likes riding, though I don't get out as often as I'd like. I mostly ride in Ocean County and south jersey.

I appreciate any advice. Thanks. Mike

Any advice?
  2. woodsrider Husqvarna
    AA Class

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    '16 FE 350
    Other Motorcycles:
    '18 Alta MXR
    I'm new to Huskies, but have been riding in the dirt for some time now. 53 yrs old, decent rider, but out of shape and slow. Ride single track, no real dual sporting at the moment.

Over the years my bikes have gotten smaller and lighter and I'm loving it. Went from a KLX650R (not a KLR, KLX is more like a Honda XR650R), to a KTM 520 EXC, to a KTM 250 EXC 2 stroke, then a YZ250 2 stroke, then a KTM 125 SX, now on a WR125.

If you're not going to be doing a lot of road riding, I'd look into a 250 or 300 2 stroke. They will have plenty of power for the south Jersey sand, but still be very light compared to your 449. The 125 might be too big of a change right off the bat.

If for some reason you don't love a 2 stroke, you could always sell it and go back to a big 4 stroke.