TE310R Impressions

Discussion in 'Get togethers - Reports' started by beck, Mar 4, 2013.

1. beck Husqvarna
    AA Class

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    2013 TE310R // 2014 Terra 650
    Back story first.

I have been riding for a couple years (10+) and mostly on the street. My friends got me hooked on dirt riding and I was borrowing a trail setup WR450 (suspension, gearing, recluse, etc), this became my normal riding style, basically put the beast in any gear and go, it would tackle pretty much anything on the trail. Now I also knew that I had some short coming in technique and would either avoid major obstacles or go around them... Let's say that that is experience.

Fast forward a couple years and I am done borrowing this bike and determine I need to get one, as I am riding monthly and considering doing hare scramble and enduro's. I am browsing dealerships, conducting some online research and decide upon a TE310R (street legal so I can go trail head to trail head, and also be able to get into Enduro races without the tag/title hassle).

Buy the bike and leave it stock and decide it would be a good idea to take that bike with me to the dirtwise class. I know that I need to better my skills and this is probably the best class out there for this. I can talk in detail about the class, and will say it was the best 2 days of learning I have done on a bike. Ever.

The bike in stock form however was a mistake. There are so many things wrong with the setup that I was losing confidence in my ability to ride. I can't blame that all on the bike, but when the course instructor and land owner offer to let me borrow their bikes so that I can perform better it does make me think twice. I made it through the course, I broke a few things (bike and self) and learned that on this machine, there are adjustments which need to be made.

1. Gearing (stock 13/40 is not practical in the woods). The bike would bog down at anything under 1/2 throttle in 2nd or 1st gear