1. 2 Stroke Husqvarna Motorcycles Made In Italy - About 1989 to 2014
    WR = 2st Enduro & CR = 2st Cross

All 2st Trick to avoid gas spillage?

Discussion in '2 Stroke' started by firecrotch, Jun 17, 2010.

1. firecrotch Husqvarna
    Pro Class

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    2009 wr300
    Other Motorcycles:
    2007 ktm 950SM
    I am new to my WR300. First ride out I was spewing gas everywhere as I filled her to the rim. I noticed even at half tank I was still draining. I have incredibly strong forearms and am scared to crank on it as I am always breaking things and striping out stuff/cross threading stuff etc. Do I just need to crank on it a little more or is there a trick?
  2. ARod2000 Husqvarna
    AA Class

I just wanted to quote that. :lol:
  3. glangston Husqvarna
    Pro Class

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    2012 Husqvarna TE 310
    Other Motorcycles:
    2012 BETA 350 RS
    Look at the rubber seal and make sure it's not pushed all the way up past the threads. That's how you get no seal despite being very tight. You need to reach in and pull the rubber seal into the threads...then put the cap on. Just tight, no real force is needed if you're getting a seal.

http://www.cafehusky.com/forums/showthread.php?t=8759&highlight=gas cap leaks

My explanation may not be as good as Ioneater's in the above thread, last post. My bike's not here right now so I can't really verify where the seal should be, but it's the issue, finding the right spot for it....not cranking down on the cap.
  4. firecrotch Husqvarna
    Pro Class

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    2009 wr300
    Other Motorcycles:
    2007 ktm 950SM
    Well, I am a powerlifter and norwegian:cheers:
  5. Coffee CH Owner

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    2006 TE250, 2013 TR650 Terra - sold
    So you have fuel spewing out the gas cap seal?

And the name you choose for the forum is firecrotch? :)

You may want to look into an aftermarket fuel cap, and of course make sure the seal is properly installed as previously mentioned.